Chihayafuru S2 – 1

Competitive cards!

Competitive cards!

Holy shit, I’m actually posting the day after I just posted something else! (Edit: WELL OR NOT. I posted this about half an hour after the day was over, lol.) Keeping a blog with contents seems to be fairly hard work. I mean, I have to have something to write about, as well as making it at least somewhat interesting for anyone to read. And when I have something cool to post about, I seem to be running out of things to say about this something after a while so I have to fill my posts with pictures. At least I’m not too lazy to post something today.

Onto Chihayafuru S2 Ep1.

Great, a descriptive topic title! Chihayafuru is a shoujo/josei (I’m not sure, it’s listed as josei, but many seem to regard it as a shoujo) anime about a girl named Ayase Chihaya, a competitive card game (karuta) enthusiast and little sister of a model sister. If I remember correctly, someone said in season one that “despite her perfect beauty, her grace and speech bring it all to nothing”. Together with Taichi, Nikuman-kun, Tsukue and Kanade, they make up the competitive karuta club at their school.

From Season One: dat skirt-jersey combo.

From Season One: dat skirt-jersey combo.

I won’t be going too deeply into everyone’s relationships this time around (partly because I’m lazy), as this is the second season after all. Roughly, Chihaya, Taichi and another guy named Arata all ended up playng karuta together, but as Arata had to move away, and Taichi’s passion for this competitive game faded, only Chihaya was left, trying to bring everyone back together.

Them old times.

Them old times.

The competitive karuta aspect of the anime is actually really cool. You don’t need to fully understand how the game works to begin with, as the epicness in the scenes tell you when something cool just happened. The game isn’t awfully complicated either, so you’ll probably learn it within a few episodes anyway. A lot of people watch Chihayafuru for all the drama and romance, but at least in my opinion, I find myself enjoying this anime far more when they’re focusing on the game. Maybe it’s an influence from me watching way too much Saki.

Smash them cards.

Smash them cards.

As I mentioned, while Karuta is the core of the story, a lot is going on around it, such as the romance and drama. This is a Shoujo/Josei after all. Still, it never really feels too shallow or overshadows the Karuta, and most of it blends nicely. It’s been a long time since I watched the first season though, and this post shouldn’t even be about the first season at all, so sorry. The point was to make you want to watch the first season. It’s good, so do it.

Taichi and Chihaya yay.

Taichi and Chihaya yay.

The second installment of Chihayafuru begins right where the first season left off, and anyone not familiar with the first season would probably have a fairly hard time understanding and getting into the story. If you’re one of them, go watch the first season (yeah I’m repeating what I said in the paragraph above. Sue me.) The main cast is back, and as always, Chihaya is as wacky and… well… cool as always. She might be my second reason to watch this show; she’s just that awesome as a main character.

Member hunting~

Member hunting~

This episode begins right when they all become second years, and they begin recruiting new prospiring karuta players. Unfortunately for Chihaya, most of the first years are girls who decided to join solely because Taichi is a part of the club. Chihaya also discovers that everyone in the original gang all had their own goals and mindsets for the club. The next high school tournament is coming up in two months, the individuals are creeping right around the corner, and Chihaya wants to coach the new members too. So what do? Chihaya solution: do everything. There is also this new girl named Hinako. I don’t like her, so I’ll just stop there.

Blargh

Blargh.

I’m not a guy that watches a lot of shoujo/josei based animes. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy them though, but most of the time they never seem to catch my interest. Chihayafuru was also introduced to me by my cousin, and it took a while until I finally decided to give it a try. Other shoujo I’ve seen/read include a few works by Tanemura Arina, and Searching For the Full Moon is a very good shoujo-anime that I can remember right now. So I’m definitely not completely shying away from shoujo, but I do seem to need some sort of push to make me watch them, as I rarely hunt for these types of shows myself. Chihayafuru is totally worth it though, so here is my push to make you watch it. *push*

One thought on “Chihayafuru S2 – 1

Leave a Reply

